Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award (CCITLA)



July 17, 2019

Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards

- Recognize and support outstanding clinical investigators at NCI-designated Cancer Centers who are actively engaged in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials.
- Promote the retention of clinical investigators in academic clinical research careers.

Overview

- Competitive award; candidates nominated annually by NCI Cancer Center Directors
- 10 to 12 new awards per year
- \$60,000 per year for 2 years
- At least 15% effort; time protected by sponsoring institution
- 95% of recipients who have completed award (n=98) are still in academic clinical research positions

Supported Activities

- Include, but not limited to:
 - Engaging fellows and new faculty in collaborative clinical research efforts
 - Organizing courses, lecture/seminar series, educational sessions, workshops related to clinical trials
 - Participating on cancer center committees related to clinical trials
 - Developing clinical trial(s)
 - Designing and implementing initiatives to better coordinate, support and integrate clinical trials efforts at the institution
 - Efforts to improve access, accrual and efficiency of clinical trials

Eligibility

- Practicing at least 3 years but no more than 8 years postfellowship
- Currently practicing in the oncology clinical setting; board certified
- Full-time faculty member, assistant or associate professor level
- Engaged in conducting NCI-funded cancer clinical trials
- Physician or oncology nurse, clinical psychologist, or similarly qualified clinician with a doctoral degree

CCITLA Program

- First awards made in 2009; 114 recipients through 2018
- Planning to engage CTAC and Cancer Center Directors to assist in assessing the CCITLA program



2019 Recipients' Disease Focus Areas

- Gastrointestinal cancers
- Gynecologic cancers
- Head & neck cancers
- Lung cancers
- Prostate cancer
- Adult and pediatric (adolescent & young adult) sarcomas



Gabriel A. Brooks, MD, MPH **Dartmouth-Hitchcock Norris Cotton Cancer Center**





Lara E. Davis, MD

Knight Cancer Institute

Oregon Health & Science University



Kristin A. Higgins, MD Winship Cancer Institute Emory University



Katherine M. Moxley, MD

Stephenson Comprehensive Cancer Center

University of Oklahoma



Paul Oberstein, MD, MS Laura & Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center New York University School of Medicine

Paul K. Paik, MD Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center



Daniel E. Spratt, MD Rogel Cancer Center University of Michigan



Victor M. Villalobos, MD, PhD

University of Colorado Cancer Center





Ira Winer, MD, PhD

Dan P. Zandberg, MD

UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute



Congratulations to the 2019 NCI Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award Recipients



www.cancer.gov/espanol

www.cancer.gov